Palau de la Música Catalana (2020-21)

Centenary of the Pau Casals Orchestra

Schumann's Cello Concerto & Mozart's Symphony No. 40
On 13th October, 1920, the first concert performance of the Pau Casals Orchestra took place at the Palau de la Música Catalana. One hundred years later, we honour him in the same venue.

The Pau Casals Orchestra, founded and directed by maestro Casals, had an intense musical life until the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War. Thanks to the concerts held at the Palau de la Música, great works in the history of music could be heard for the first time in Barcelona, and enjoyed conductors such as Richard Strauss, Igor Stravinsky, Manuel de Falla and Arnold Schönberg.


R. SCHUMANN: Cello Concerto, Op. 129
W. A. MOZART: Symphony No. 40, KV 550

Pau Codina, cello
Franz Schubert Filharmonia
Salvador Mas, director


Composer: Robert Schumann, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Soloist: Pau Codina
Conductor: Salvador Mas
Instruments: Cello
65m / Full HD / Stereo